Mountain Light News:  Article 

Back to:     News Archive

Rowell Legacy Committee Seeks Nominees for Rowell Award for the Art of Adventure

Rowell Award for the Art of AdventureSan Francisco, CA—The Rowell Legacy Committee is currently accepting nominations for The Rowell Award for the Art of Adventure which will honor that adventurer whose artistic passion illuminates the wild places of the world, and whose accomplishments significantly benefit both the environment and the people who inhabit these lands and regions. Nominations will be accepted from July 16, 2007 through November 15, 2007 and can be sent via email, fax or regular mail. The $15,000 annual cash award will be presented at the annual Rowell Lecture Series in spring 2008 at an event in San Francisco to an individual selected by a panel of active and influential members of the outdoor adventure world. This event is co-presented by The Yosemite Fund and the Commonwealth Club of California.

In August 2002, famed adventurers, writers and photographers of wild places Galen and Barbara Rowell died tragically in a plane crash near their home in Bishop, California. The Rowell Legacy Committee was formed to commemorate the lives and preserve the spirit of the Rowells. Its hope is that Galen and Barbara's work and the award will inspire in others the love of the human experience in the environment and the desire to protect the wild and special places on our planet. The Committee is excited to present this unique award to an individual who exemplifies the hallmarks of Galen and Barbara—adventure, art and giving back.

The Rowell Legacy Committee Honorary Chairs include: Conrad Anker, Tom Brokaw and Erik Weihenmayer. The Rowell Award Judging Panel includes: Conrad Anker, Richard Blum, Dick Dorworth, Frans Lanting, Doug McConnell, Chris McNamara, Duane Raleigh, Corey Rich, Nicole Rowell Ryan, and Steven Werner.

Back to:     News Archive

Contact Us

Mountain Light Gallery is open Monday through Saturday 10am to 5pm and Sunday 11am to 4pm (U.S. Pacific).
The Image Licensing Department is open Monday through Friday 10am to 5pm (U.S. Pacific).